null

The Hour of Land : A Personal Topography of America's National Parks

(No reviews yet) Write a Review
$18.00

Product Overview

Now a National Bestseller, an ode to our national parks by the beloved New York Times bestselling author of When Women Were Birds

America’s national parks are breathing spaces in a world in which such spaces are steadily disappearing. This is why more than 300 million people visit the parks each year.

In The Hour of Land, Terry Tempest Williams, author of the environmental classic Refuge and the beloved memoir When Women Were Birds, offers a gift of celebration: an exploration of our national parks, and what they mean to us and we mean to them. From the Grand Tetons in Wyoming to Acadia in Maine to Big Bend in Texas, Williams captures the unique grandeur of each place while unearthing what it means to shape a landscape with its own evolutionary history into something of our own making. Part memoir, part natural history, and part social critique, The Hour of Land is a meditation and a manifesto on why wild lands matter to the soul of America.

• Now a nominee for the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence
• For readers of Peter Matthiessen, Barry Lopez, and Annie Dillard
• Beautiful paperback repackage with flaps makes this a perfect gift

Reviews

(No reviews yet) Write a Review